Black cities vs. white cities

I’ve lived in two black cities and two white cities. The biggest difference between black cities and white cities is service.

In white cities, service jobs are performed by white kids or white adults (the adults are often the sort who are “just doing the job to pay the bills while they work on their art”). In black cities service jobs are performed by blacks.

When I first moved to DC, it took me a long time to get used to the fact that the mail might come at 10:00pm (or not come at all). That sometimes when someone takes my order for a coffee they might look pissed off at me for interrupting their day. That sometimes my order won’t come and that if I mention this fact to anyone, they’ll get really pissed off at me. That cashiers in the grocery store will stop working when their cell phone rings (most grocery stores in DC now block cell phone reception in the store to prevent this, but this means that you can’t make a call from the grocery store). That some weeks the trash collectors will skip a house or two or simply forget to come down my alley (and calling to ask for them to come back is a huge waste of time).

It’s well known that even the most politically-correct white people flee cities if there’s any possibility that their children might have to attend a school with a meaningful percentage of black kids, but if we leave the city, it will probably because we just want a normal trip to the grocery store.

I remember after I first moved to DC, I went to the DMV on a Wednesday morning. I got there a bit before it opened and waited in line to get in. After I made it past the initial line and got my number, I proceeded into a waiting room. The waiting room consisted of two groups of chairs split by an aisle. Everyone that was already in the waiting room was sitting on the right side. Naturally, I moved toward the left side . . . until I realized that someone had vomited on the floor in the middle of the chairs on the left side. I was at the DMV for approximately 2 hours. In that time no one cleaned up the vomit. It was apparently normal – no one cared.

At the DMV in Seattle, on the other hand, I was in and out in 5 minutes and I had a nice chat about the weather with the lady who gave me a drivers license.

23 Responses to Black cities vs. white cities

  1. josh says:

    My wife and I took the kids to Falls Church City. It’s night and day. We talk to our neighbors and invite each other to dinner at each others houses. The librarian knows my daughter’s name. We have a year round farmers market for which there was a successful campaign to vote as the nations best. Why? Because people were actually proud of it. It’s as if people feel a certain bond simply because they share a community. This is something I haven’t experienced before. It’s a little pocket of civilization. Our independent school system also has the whitest public school in the DC metro area (1795 avg. SAT score).

    • Foseti says:

      Yeah, and I probably paid more for my house in the city too.

      I really like being in the city and I experience some of the things you describe, but . . . not others. I wouldn’t dare use the library in the city, for example. Many activities in the city are designed in a way that appeals only to white people. For example, all the new bars serve $8 craft beers (nothing cheaper other than the occasional $2 PBR which appeals to the hipsters). This means that we can create the same sort of environment that you have in Falls Church, but it’s not really the same.

      • Obsidian says:

        Foseti,
        Maybe its just your really bad luck that’s at fault here? I mean, I too have lived in quite a few Black cities, and I mean the hood too, and I have never experienced what you described in your post. The mail always came in the daylight hours, I never got bad service at a Black coffee shop, and there was no vomit on the floor at the DMV in very Black Philly.

        *shrugs*

        Oh, and when you get a chance, come on over. Your ears should be burning…

        O.

      • Foseti says:

        I saw your post and I still don’t understand what you’re criticizing me for. I’d love to respond, but I’m not sure what you believe I’m doing wrong.

        As to service, it has nothing to do with luck. Even when things “work” in DC they’re orders of magnitude less pleasant and efficient than they were in Minneapolis, for example.

  2. Matt Weber says:

    Hmm, I live in a black city of sorts (Hampton Roads, VA), and I have never found the blacks that work service jobs (it’s maybe about 50/50, with few Mexicans in the mix) to be any more or less cordial or polite than the whites. The worst experiences we’ve had have been with white girls at Target who clearly didn’t give a crap. I have no idea what the mailman’s race is, but the mail comes at pretty much the same time every day.

    Most of my neighbors are black, but I think they are all military as well. They’ve never been anything but polite, but no one really tries to be your friend or anything. Overall, while the inner city areas are filled with the type of project-dwelling blacks you’d want to avoid (quite a high murder rate, along with other violence), outside that I don’t really find blacks to be any less civilized than whites.

    • don't say the "N" word guy says:

      come down to Georgia where blacks treat whites like shit. Blacks are nasty and want everything gave to them because there great, great grand dad was a slave. I hate black people and if I could get out of here, believe me…I would. Their corrupting our children with their dumb language and bad raising. Any of you who think blacks are the same as whites come to my house and sit in my back yard for one day and then tell me that same line.

  3. Obsidian says:

    Hi Foseti,
    That’s funny; all the other respondents seemed to understand exactly what I was saying wrt our recent exchange. Perhaps you’d like to read it over a few more times until it sinks in? Or are you being coy because I caught you cold busted? LOL

    As for Black cities, you mentioned two above. I am telling you that I have lived in twice as many such locales at least, and have NEVER experienced what you talked about DC above – in fact, in my time in the Choclate City, I never experienced what you did. So, I’m thinking the reasons for it has more to do with you than with Black folks. Otherwise, how could you explain our vastly different experiences, one of which includes the current city you call home?

    LOL

    O.

    • Foseti says:

      This was my best guess as to what you are criticizing me for. Is that correct?

      Which predominantly white cities have you spend a lot of time in?

      • Obsidian says:

        I didn’t say that I spent time in predominantly White cities, Foseti; indeed, I said the exact opposite. And I am telling you that even in the heart of the hood, I have NOT experienced the kinds of things you report you have, and that included DC.

        So, I am suggesting another explanation for the whys and wherefores you’ve experienced: YOU.

        See? That was easy! :)

        O.

      • Foseti says:

        My experiences were based on comparing white cities and black cities. So, if you haven’t spent time in white cities, you can’t make the comparison.

        The logic isn’t hard to follow . . .

    • shazzam says:

      Obsidian, maybe you are just plain dope?

  4. Obsidian says:

    Yes, it is, because even if I’d never met a White person before in my life, I can still compare my experiences living in Black neighborhoods and among Black people and still say, that I have never gotten my mail after sundown, have never gone to a DMV or any other municipal building for that matter and seen vomit on the floor, and I have never recieved bad service from Black own and operated coffee shops and other related restaurants and eateries. You, on the other hand, have. This has nothing to do with White people. We are both comparing our experiences of Black cities and neighborhoods along the metrics you have defined. And on that note I am saying to you, that perhaps gthe reasons why you experienced what you did, had more to do with YOU than anything else.

    I can explain all that again if you want… ;)

    O.

    • Chuck says:

      Obsidian:

      Let me ask you this: can you say with a straight face that the service black workers provide is equal to that of white workers?

      if so, I’d laugh at you because every other testimony I’ve ever heard speaks to the wide disparity between the attitude of white employees and black employees. it’s that countercultural mentality – that aversion to The Man.

      • Obsidian says:

        Hi Chuck,
        See, there you go AGAIN, shifting the goalposts when the results don’t align in the way you’d like, LOL. I am focusing on Foseti’s point above, which is that clearly, when Black folk run things, all hell breaks loose, and while I wouldn’t deny that in its entirety, what I will say, is that in all the many Black localities I’ve lived – again, in the stompdown hood now – I’ve NEVER experienced what Foseti claims to have happened to him. Period.

        I am suggesting that perhaps there are other reasons as to why his experiences in Black locales was so bad, and one of those possibilities is that it is him, rather than others. After all, how can one explain my completely different experiences in comparison to his own, including his current home in DC?

        Holla back, and this time, focus…

        O.

      • Foseti says:

        Obsidian, you’re the one shifting goal posts in that you never really responded to my argument.

        Perhaps you’re correct that my bad service experiences are my own fault, but I’m not vane enough to think that they block cell phone service in grocery stores in DC because of me (though I am flattered that you think I’m this important).

        Someone who has never lived anywhere but predominantly black cities wouldn’t really know how much worse the service in these cities is. You would simply think that the crappy service you get on a daily basis is the best you can hope for. I have friends (white and black) who grew up in DC and they see nothing wrong with the service. They don’t know what they’re missing.

        Finally, you insinuate that I’m getting bad service because of me. This insinuation does nothing to undermine my argument. Everyone gets good service in Minneapolis, for example.

      • Chuck says:

        I’m gonna go ahead and call you a liar Obsidian. Black workers are notorious for copping attitudes for the slightest of reasons.

        I’ve experienced the same things as Foseti, and I’m the friendliest, most polite motherfucker you’d ever meet on the street.

        It’s to the point where when I call into a call center for help or customer service and I can tell the other person on the line is black – either by their name or their manner of speech – I hang up and call back. Black phone operators are rude and they are not forthcoming with information or help. It seems, when dealing with blacks in customer service roles, that *you*, the customer, are having to accomodate them.

        And that kind of fits in with the overarching culture today, isn’t it? Black people act like they’re entitled to something, and they are often unwilling to engage in a hard day’s work because that is selling out.

        Now, obviously you aren’t that way, Obsidian. You work and seem to not cop an attitude in that way. But can you actually sit there and say that you haven’t observed that in other black people moreso than in whites?

        And Foseti’s point is that maybe you’re just acclimated to black customer service. Since you’ve never lived in a majority white location you don’t have any way of comparing what you experience on a day-to-day basis with “the way things could be”. Go to a white area, even a white metropolis like Austin, TX, Oklahoma City, or wherever and you’ll see a stark difference.

      • Obsidian says:

        Hi Foseti,
        Replies below:

        F: Obsidian, you’re the one shifting goal posts in that you never really responded to my argument.

        O: Yes I did, it’s just that, as per usual, you don’t like what I said because it doesn’t conform to the Blacks as Damaged Goods Theory, so now you want to change the subject. We are dealing with your experience in Black cities, and my experience in Black cities, and mine is infinitely better than yours, and this you simply cannot accept. Which isn’t a problem I can or should solve.

        F: Perhaps you’re correct that my bad service experiences are my own fault, but I’m not vane enough to think that they block cell phone service in grocery stores in DC because of me (though I am flattered that you think I’m this important).

        O: Anything is possible, besides, if your online persona is anything to go by, you just might bring out the worst in folk. Oh, and its “vain”, not “vane”.

        F: Someone who has never lived anywhere but predominantly black cities wouldn’t really know how much worse the service in these cities is. You would simply think that the crappy service you get on a daily basis is the best you can hope for. I have friends (white and black) who grew up in DC and they see nothing wrong with the service. They don’t know what they’re missing.

        O: So, because I’ve never lived in all White area, I therefore do not know what vomit looks like? That I can’t tell the difference between night and day? Is that what you’re telling me Foseti? Come on, even you can’t be serious with that kind of bullshit.

        F: Finally, you insinuate that I’m getting bad service because of me. This insinuation does nothing to undermine my argument. Everyone gets good service in Minneapolis, for example.

        O: Yes it does, because we weren’t talking about Minneapolis, we’re comparing our experience of getting service from Blacks in predominately Black areas. I am suggesting to you that the reasons why you might not be getting good service in comparison to me getting good to great service just might be, because they don’t like your White ass. Possibly because they can sniff out the White Jerk in you. Just a thought.

        SMH…

        O.

  5. orientalright says:

    I think this may be more of a regional thing than a racial thing. The blacks here in Austin are all nice and give good customer service. The several that I work with are all have pleasant demeanors, even if one of them acts supremely “black”, he is still kind-hearted and gives better service than any of the whites that work. I think they may be even be slightly nicer than the whites because they are not SWPL.

    People in the Northeast are rude as hell when compared to people in Texas.

    • Foseti says:

      That might be correct. In my experience and in mostly black areas, the farther south you go, the nicer the service gets. I’m not sure why . . .

      • Obsidian says:

        That’s easy, Foseti – because Southerners in general tend to be nicer than Northerners. Pretty simple stuff. I thought you were so smart…

        O.

  6. Obsidian says:

    Hi Chuck,
    Replies below:

    C: I’m gonna go ahead and call you a liar Obsidian. Black workers are notorious for copping attitudes for the slightest of reasons.

    O: Ok, so now this is the new move – when the Black guy completely upsets the apple cart by going off script, call him a liar! LMAO!!!

    C: I’ve experienced the same things as Foseti, and I’m the friendliest, most polite motherfucker you’d ever meet on the street.

    O: I’m sure.

    C: It’s to the point where when I call into a call center for help or customer service and I can tell the other person on the line is black – either by their name or their manner of speech – I hang up and call back. Black phone operators are rude and they are not forthcoming with information or help. It seems, when dealing with blacks in customer service roles, that *you*, the customer, are having to accomodate them.

    O: Strange that I have never seemed to come accross these uber rude Black call center folks, and I use services that require them quite a bit, for example, my cell phone, internet, credit cards, etc, et al; but wait, you and Foseti have the answer! It’s down in the comments below, I think…

    C: And that kind of fits in with the overarching culture today, isn’t it? Black people act like they’re entitled to something, and they are often unwilling to engage in a hard day’s work because that is selling out.

    O: If that were true, there would be no Black people working at all, because businesses, like call centers and coffee shops wouldn’t hire them, no would they, Mr. Econ 101? LOL

    C: Now, obviously you aren’t that way, Obsidian. You work and seem to not cop an attitude in that way. But can you actually sit there and say that you haven’t observed that in other black people moreso than in whites?

    O: Have I observed Black jerks? Sure. More or less so than Whites? I honestly don’t know. I’ve never taken it upon myself to spend copious amounts of my free time to conduct such scientific studies…

    C: And Foseti’s point is that maybe you’re just acclimated to black customer service. Since you’ve never lived in a majority white location you don’t have any way of comparing what you experience on a day-to-day basis with “the way things could be”. Go to a white area, even a white metropolis like Austin, TX, Oklahoma City, or wherever and you’ll see a stark difference.

    O: OK, so lemme make sure I get this straight – because I’m Black, and because I’ve lived in primarily Black areas, that means I don’t know vomit when I see it; that I can’t tell the difference between night and day; and that I wouldn’t know good wait service in a coffee shop or restaurant if it gave me a might pimphand in broad daylight. Are you guys saying all this crap with a straightface?

    LOL SMH

    O.

  7. [...] Societies”Foseti – “Men’s Rights and Traditionalism“, “Black Cities vs. White Cities”Half Sigma – “The Government’s Role in Curbing Value Transference“, [...]

  8. Anonymous says:

    I live in the country/mountains about 60 miles outside pittsburgh. Pittsburgh has blacks that shoot each other every week end. The only blacks we see up here are affluent ones that come up to to resorts and they know how to act and talk white.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

