Randoms of the past week

Newt Gingrich took a beating this week but if he keeps getting progressives to admit that blacks are less intelligent than whites, then I may have to start liking the guy.

This was probably the funniest post I read all week.

"The Ten Worst States to be a Dumb Slut"

Ulysses on Southern women.

Violence in Athens – and it’s not because of austerity. (As an aside, is there a better sign of the times than the fact that "austerity" has come to mean living within your means?)

Looks like Auster has come around to Moldbug’s theory of intervention in Libya. America was bored and invading Libya seemed like it’d be interesting for a bit.

I’m taking this as a sign that we’ve hit the bottom of the housing trough.

I’ve often argued that the civil servants are really in charge, and lately, they’re really actually in charge.

Thoughts on various bloggers that I like.

Bruce Charlton on Mormons. I also have highly positive feelings about Mormons.

The democratic apocalypse.

Fugitive Agrarians.

For some reason when I read Hilary Clinton discussing other countries, I get really creeped out.

5 Responses to Randoms of the past week

  1. Handle says:

    I’m not a Mormon, but I know many Mormons (who, if my impression is correct, are disproportionately represented in government), and while I would never convert to Mormonism, if my child came to me and told me he had converted to some other religion, I would be least unhappy upon learning that it was Mormonism.

    This conclusion is based upon my experiences of the religion’s positive influence on the success and happiness of its sincerely devout and well-adjusted adherents, and the strong stability and solidarity of their religious community.

    To me, that is the real test of the “Truth-value” of any religion – not the “scriptural content”, but how well it serves human beings. Also – it’s ability to peacefully coexist and interact with members of other faiths and reconcile itself with modernity – as opposed to some other religions I could name with a pronounced tendency to turn its followers into genocidal bloodlusting fanatics trying to freeze time at the seventh century.

  2. dearieme says:

    “to become an American citizen, immigrants ought to have to learn American history”: I take it he means something like ‘ought to be indoctrinated in the American foundation myths’?

  3. RS says:

    Somebody’s ‘system’ is definitely ‘doomed’, but I don’t think it’s the PRC.

    Here’s a new one: might all the Bush-Obama democracy balogna partly be aimed — long-term — at destabilizing / weakening / controlling China? As well as Russia?

    That’s as good an explanation as sheer entertainment (Libya), or venal attempts to create a new rogue state that gives State something to do.

    It might be a mix of different things.

    If that has anything to do with it, they’re making a pretty funny hash of it by creating new Irans from Afghanistan to Libya. Afghanistan may be just a US anarchotyranny now, but we will run out of dough one day and leave. I’d say six years. We won’t be flat broke, just poorer than before – but the spending will be too unpopular to go on.

  4. RS says:

    Auster is not in his best form on that thread: “There’s just no statement I’ve heard from the relevant Western governments indicating that oil was a consideration here [in attacking Libya].”

    Well, if you write a lot, one day you’ll say something funny. I’m sure I have.

    Kilroy, and even more, English Karen are hitting the nail on that thread. Geostrategy. I think that’s what’s going on. Kadafi’s threatening a bloodbath granted NATO a humanitarian bologna screen. It’s fake. As RKU says, there’s violence en masse in Subsaharan Africa all the time, but no one does anything about it, or even talks seriously about doing anything. There was also all that stuff in Myanmar or something, but people didn’t care too much about it.

  5. RS says:

    They probably don’t expect to actually topple Russia gov or PRC gov. They just want to get oil for us, and just as importantly keep it away from them, so things look OK-ish here relative to there. The goal is to prevent a revolution in the USA, long term – particularly, a true social revolution where the entire ruling caste is uninstalled, banned from all power and wealth unto the third generation.

    I don’t see why low-C Russia would get really rich and powerful soon (I wish they would), but soon China will make us look really bad. They’re going to embarrass our regime with sublime public works. Imagine an entire city, three miles across, of untouchable beauty. Or they’ll have an extravagant genius breeding program, or whatever.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

