Suck it, plebes

"Foseti," I hear my commenters saying, "doesn’t a freeze on federal employees’ pay mean that you are wrong about how good it is to be a federal employee."

By now, dear reader, you should be aware that you can’t really freeze federal pay in any meaningful way. If you read the story carefully, you’ll see this:

The pay freeze would not affect bonuses or step increases for federal employees.

So basically, this only freezes pay increases for inflation. Since the official measures show inflation of 0%, this pay freeze isn’t exactly going to hurt. In total, the average federal employee in 2013 might be making about 3% less than he or she otherwise would be. Big deal. Many of us will get step increases or promotions or bonuses in the meantime.

2 Responses to Suck it, plebes

  1. aretae says:

    On the other hand, I think you and I had a beverage bet on this topic. I think it’s in your comments somewhere, though, and I can’t find it.

    • Foseti says:

      I’ll look. I can’t imagine that I wouldn’t have added any caveats. I still guarantee that my pay will increase by more than 5% during “the pay freeze.”

Leave a Reply

