Who is white?

I’ve recently learned that black people often refer to all non-NAMs as white. (As best I can tell, Hispanics seem to get their own category, generally "Mexicans" regardless of their actual country of origin).

Black people in my neighborhood keep referring to the woman whose "grill got rearranged" as "white" even though she is not white. She is white in the SWPL way, and white in the sense that she’s not black, but she’s "not white" in that she’s not Caucasian.

The fact that black people keep referring to her as white is really pissing off all my SWPL neighbors (which is to say all my neighbors).

Some people are asking that this crime be considered a hate crime, but the SWPLs object because the woman was not "white."

Interesting stuff.

13 Responses to Who is white?

  1. B Lode says:

    Okay, I’m way way out of the loop on this one.

    What is the ethnicity of this unfortunate person, convicted in the court of public opinion of the high crime of Existing While Non-Black?

    • Foseti says:

      Unclear. Not white and not black is all we know for sure at this point. Given that black people are referring to her as “white” she must also not be Hispanic.

      • B Lode says:

        Aww geez. It’s enough to make ya wanna scrap racial labels, abolish affirmative action, and forget about hate crime. Course I already wanted those last two things….

  2. Tschafer says:

    So I guess that leaves East Asian? Are we getting warmer?

  3. Jehu says:

    Maybe she’s Indian. I know having a bunch of Indian professors didn’t get the EE department at my university excused from being called ‘Lily White’ 🙂 Some of the Indian profs were darker than the median black student also.

  4. Genius says:

    Well, I suppose she could be “white” in the sense that Bill Clinton was “the first black president.”

    Many American Jews and other ethnicities like Irish and Italians were very surprised to discover that they went from being definitely not white to being uniformly considered white in the second half of the 20th century, specifically in the 1970s. Obviously “whiteness” means quite a bit more than, well, whiteness.

  5. […] Foseti – “The Flynn Effect or Your Lying Eyes“, “Foseti’s Theory of Crime and Punishment“, “Another Reactionary Encounter“, “Who is White?” […]

  6. Taggart says:

    So what is Derek Jeter? Not white, but not really black or Hispanic either.

  7. Tschafer says:

    I’m of Irish descent, and I certainly was considered “white” in the 1950’s, as was Frank Sinatra (Italian) and Hank Greenberg (Jew). Let’s not be absurd here. There’s a difference between “being white” and “considered somewhat socially inferior to WASPS”. There were certainly no “NINA” signs in the 1950’s – trust me on this one. And in the 19th century, the Irish were considered “white”, it’s just that simply being white didn’t count for much – they and the Italians were considered white trash, with a few exceptions. Yes, there was prejudice, but be careful whose history you trust – liberals always try to make America prior to the Boomer Revolution sound like South Africa, and I can assure you, it wasn’t.

    • Genius says:

      I’ll defer to your own memory, since you were alive at the time and I wasn’t.

      I know that my mother’s parents (born in America in 1926 and 1930) were not white as children and that my grandfather wasn’t white when he was in the army with real white people. My father (born in 1951) first found out he was white when, as a student in junior high, he was considered white for the purpose of being bused into a black neighborhood. His new identity as a white person crystalized very quickly when, after one frightening school year, his mother put him in an all-white private prep school.

  8. icr says:

    I grew up in a very ethnically mixed working class/middle class neighborhood on the S Side of Chicago in the 50s. There was never any question about Europeans of whatever ethnicity being considered white: Poles, Italians, Greeks,Irish, Jews, you name it. Actually, the definition may have been a little more expansive back then, since as far as I could tell the few Mexicans we had were considered white and considered themselves so. But then I doubt that the North Shore elite would have considered the
    Mexicans white. Or possibly they would have just lumped us all together as social inferiors.

    P.S Another leftist myth I’ve come across is that wife-beating was considered acceptable behavior in the 50s.

  9. Glossy says:

    Blacks seem to have what I’ll call a low mental resolution. It’s been my experience that white ethnicities tend to blur together for them in a way they don’t for Asian-Americans, for example. They just think in fewer categories.

    This is not unrelated: in spite of often living next to Hispanics here in NYC, they rarely bother to acknowledge the existence of Spanish names. Jorge is normally pronounced as George among them, Jose as Joe, etc. I’ve heard Jimenez pronounced as if it started the same way as the first name Jim several times, never by a white person.

  10. Tschafer says:

    Genius – What ethnicity was your Grandfather? I certainly wouldn’t want to say he wasn’t telling the truth, and I hope that you didn’t take it that way. All I can speak for is the fact that Irish and Italians and Jews were considered white in the 1950’s snd 60’s in the American Midwest. Maybe where he was at it was different. But my dad served in the Army in WWII with a lot of other guys of Irish extraction, and they certainly were considered white. But there used to be a lot more regional variation in the U.S. – maybe in your parents’ particular area, there was something funny going on. I know in a few parts of New England in the 19th century, Portuguese wern’t considered “really” white, so maybe it was some odd thing like that. I just get tired of the left exaggerating the amount of bigotry there was prior to the glorious revolution of 1968. Yeah, there was prejudice in pre 1968 America, just like there is today. There was also a strong middle class, safer streets, intact families, a sane foreign policy, a strong dollar, a vibrant arts scene, an active non-PC intellectual life, and a lot of other things that we don’t have now. I guess its all a matter of taste. Anyway, all I can vouch for is my own experience – but I can certainly vouch for that.

Leave a Reply

