Review of “The Four-Hour Body” by Timothy Ferriss

I’m not really sure why I read this book.

I’m not big on the self-help stuff. Also, I don’t really diet or stick to exercise routines. I’ve been on the skinny side and reasonably in shape without having to do much planning. But, I kept seeing people linking to the book.

I agree with a lot of what Mr Mangan had to say about the book. I picture Ferriss as the sort of guy who lectures with the sort of microphone that he’s wearing in his Wikipedia picture (I started laughing when I saw that picture). Frankly, I bet he’s a pretty annoying guy.

In all, I’ll make some changes based on what I read in the book, but it wasn’t life changing. I found Ferriss’ style more interesting than the majority of the content.

9 Responses to Review of “The Four-Hour Body” by Timothy Ferriss

  1. sconzey says:

    I did find the tone of the book annoying too. Currently trying out his weightloss strategy ¬_¬ keep jonesing for carbs but we’ll see how it goes.

    I think one of the main things is that he *isn’t* saying: “this is how to loose weight/build muscle.” He’s saying: this is how you measure bodyfat/muscle, and look at all these interesting and contrary results that challenge received wisdom.

    In interviews he’s always talked about wanting to build “a movement” around self-experimentation. When you read the book — not as a self-help guide — but as informal lab notes, it makes a little more sense.

    • Foseti says:

      Good luck on the weight loss.

      I think you’re absolutely correct about what he isn’t saying.

      I also agree about the self-experimentation bit – which is partly why I find the book less useful. I’m not going in for MRIs every other day, for example.

  2. Tschafer says:

    Do you think it’s worth buying? I’ve tried low-carb, and found it highly effective, and my wife lost 50 pounds, so I don’t need to be sold on that – does Ferriss have anyhing to add that I can’t find in Gary Taubes?

    • Foseti says:

      His carb diet is different than paleo.

      In brief, he recommends eating legumes and taking one day a week to eat as much unhealthy food as you want.

      There are more details here. Otherwise, just Google “slow carb diet.”

      If you’re looking for some good, relatively short exercise routines to work with your diet, you’ll find some helpful stuff in the book. Otherwise, it sounds like you’re doing pretty well on your own.

    • Buckethead says:

      One useful thing that he emphasizes is that you need to eat more if you go low carb. He recommends four meals a day, and blames a lot of problems people experience on low carb diets with insufficient fat and protein to make up for carbs that are now verboten.

      I was set to start his plan this month, but my wife kept throwing me off by having a baby and stuff. I’m going to follow his diet as close as I can and compare the results to my experience with a regular paleo diet.

  3. ram setu nasa picture…

    […]Review of “The Four-Hour Body” by Timothy Ferriss « Foseti[…]…

  4. Undeniably believe that that you said. Your favorite justification seemed
    to be at the web the easiest factor to have in mind of.
    I say to you, I definitely get irked while people consider worries that they plainly
    do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as neatly as outlined out
    the whole thing with no need side-effects , other people could take
    a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

Leave a Reply

