Charles I

362 years ago, Charles I was beheaded.

As Moldbug once said, “Perhaps the best and most succinct statement of the reactionary philosophy of government – especially considering the context – was this one:”

Truly I desire their liberty and freedom as much as anybody whomsoever; but I must tell you their liberty and freedom consists of having of government, those laws by which their life and their goods may be most their own. It is not for having a share in government, sir, that is nothing pertaining to them. A subject and sovereign are clear different things.

7 Responses to Charles I

  1. anon says:

    I find the quote a bit difficult to parse near the end. Could you explain?

    • Steve Johnson says:

      Good government provides liberty and freedom.

      Democracy (self-government) is one where everyone has a share of sovereignty – it blurs the line between subject and sovereign. Democracy isn’t good government either practically (i.e., works out to produce good government) or in theory (i.e., is in itself good government).

  2. josh says:

    That which governs best is best and “self-government” in a contradiction in terms.

  3. Carter says:

    “then turning to a Gentlemen that touched the Ax, said, Hurt not the Ax, that may hurt me”

    That moment boggles the mind.

    • Foseti says:

      It’s really almost impossible to imagine

      • Carter says:

        Walter Raleigh had a similar moment. Supposedly everyone on the scaffold, including the executioner, was sad about his execution. I suspect he did that, in part, to cheer them up.

      • Steve Johnson says:

        This quote I think has been said better:

        “Sirs, It was for this that now I Am come here. If I would have given way to an Arbitrary way, for to have all Laws changed according to the power of the Sword, I needed not to have come here; and therefore, I tell you, (and I pray God it be not laid to your charge) That I Am the Martyr of the People.”

        More succinct from a king who survived an attempted regicide and saw the anti-monarchy forces succeeding after his death:

        “Apres moi, le deluge”

Leave a Reply

