Dad night

Tonight was the first night that I put the baby to bed without any assistance from my wife. She’s at a work dinner.

It went surprisingly well. Now, it’s time for a martini . . . or two.

So far, fatherhood has been surprisingly pleasant.

7 Responses to Dad night

  1. Handle says:

    I greatly enjoy fatherhood myself, many great times await you.

  2. josh says:

    Fatherhood is great. Best thing I’ve ever done. Good luck to you.

  3. Erik says:

    Consider me supportive.

  4. dearieme says:

    All’s well until about age 11. It gets good again at about 24.

  5. I too have find fatherhood pretty pleasant. The sleep deprivation wasn’t nearly as bad as graduate school and changing diapers isn’t very hard.

    What I find most interesting is the specialties my wife and I have. I am the expert at burping the little fellow and putting him to bed. He doesn’t like being carried in my arms while he loves it when she and her mother carry him. On the other hand he will only allow me to carry him in the baby sling; he fusses bitterly when my wife tries it. I can’t bottle-feed him without getting milk everywhere (I do anyway), while she can feed him in like a dozen different ways without a mess.

    • You know, I was just thinking over what it is exactly that has been my least favorite part of being a new father. Diapers and crying hasn’t been it. Moody wife hasn’t been it.

      In fact, my least favorite part of being a father hasn’t been anything to do with my family or my home – it’s been listening to the bitter crypto-feminists at my office predicting doom and gloom for my future. Before he was born, I was assured that for the first several months he would never sleep and neither would I. That turned out to be wrong. Now they have skipped toddlerhood and the “terrible” twos and gone all the way to what a hellion he’ll be when he’s an adolescent.

      I always get the urge to assure them he won’t be exposed to either television or public schools, but I don’t relish being asked, “Uh, what’s that got do with it?” by the jowls-hang-low set.

      Keep your pessimism regarding my family to yourself, ladies.

  6. […] comment from Olave d’Estienne got me thinking about gender […]

Leave a Reply

