Randoms

Good governance is valuable. It will benefits countries with good governance, which correspond exactly to . . . wait for it . . . countries with high IQ. I don’t mean to suggest that good governance isn’t important, but I do mean to suggest that it’s much easier to create good governance in Sweden than in Mali. In fact, good governance in those places might look very different.

A Carlyle Christmas.

– Spandrell says he doesn’t consider himself a reactionary because he doesn’t want to return to the past. I would note – in defense of the term reactionary – that it’s impossible to return to the past. We don’t want to return to it – we just don’t want to condemn, disregard and ignore it.

– Someone at Treasury has apparently discovered maturity transformation.

More maps of racial segregation in American cities (I live on a block that is all close to 50/50 white-black, whereas the block to my west is apparently all white and the block to my east is apparently all black). The maps almost overlay race and crime (results are obvious).

– Sam Francis defined anarcho-tryanny by saying, “we refuse to control real criminals (that’s the anarchy) so we control the innocent (that’s the tyranny).”

In unrelated news, on my way to the airport last week, I drove by an uninhabitable neighborhood (due to high levels of crime) to the airport, where my one-year-old’s organic peanut butter was confiscated by TSA because “it is a liquid.” The phrase “stealing candy from a baby” comes close, no?

– One asks about pop culture. I don’t follow pop culture, but I do follow all the popular hour-long, 13-episode shows on HBO and the rest. I also spend a little time playing video games. I don’t think it’s necessary to throw out the TV, but I do think it’s necessary to take some time, every now and then, to leave it off and get lost in old books. Often when I travel for work, I spend a whole week doing nothing but reading books from the 18th or 19th Century and working. You approach the modern world in a different way after a week like that.

Lasik and health insurance.

– If I made up this story, I’d be racist.

– The case for monarchy – Portugal edition.

– Maybe we should arrange marriages.

The People cannot be questioned.

– Increasing exports is good, right?

20 Responses to Randoms

  1. AC says:

    I’d love to dive into old books, but my schedule doesn’t give me week-long blocks to read in. Can you give some recommendations for first reads, 80/20 style?

    • Foseti says:

      Can you narrow it down a bit?

      I think it’s best to pick one topic – for example, the US Civil War. Read three or four of the books I’ve reviewed on the Civil War that are primary sources. It doesn’t have to be that subject, but I’d recommend picking a subject and reading 3-4 primary sources on that topic.

  2. aretae says:

    One of my dear (white, female, high sigma) friends has been extolling the virtues of arranged marriages for ~10 years. It removes the notion that marriages work or don’t work based on the kinds of compatibility young folks look for…and reminds us instead that marriages work based on (a) the kinds of cultural compatibility that adults are aware of, and (b) a lot of hard work on both parties parts. I’m quite a fan. Of course, I don’t fit well into any culture, and don’t expect that it would work for me at all….but that’s not to be very pro-arranged marriage as an ideal.

    • Ken says:

      It’s point (b) that really matters in any marriage, I think. I’ve always said that the point is not to stay together for the sake of the children (where children are involved), but to work like all hell to have a good marriage for the sake of the children.

  3. Jehu says:

    Yes, about half of my work friends that are married have arranged marriages. They seem to work just fine. While I’m not pushing arranged marriages for people in my own particular circle, I am advocating that the adults take a much more active role in helping our kids find suitable mates than is the cultural norm—ESPECIALLY if we’re talking about kids who aren’t inherently extraverted or socially dominant.

    • Mike says:

      “I am advocating that the adults take a much more active role in helping our kids find suitable mates than is the cultural norm—ESPECIALLY if we’re talking about kids who aren’t inherently extraverted or socially dominant.”

      I completely agree. I would have been much better off with an arranged marriage.

      Jehu, Are your work friends Indian or white American?

  4. Allan says:

    I can’t comprehend how anyone
    with an IQ above 100
    who has a job, a family,
    and who has to deal with all the distasteful,
    time-consuming tasks
    of present day life,
    such as e-mail,
    can want to spend even half an hour watching TV.

    And yet some of these people even claim
    that they have
    in addition
    time to read books.

    How is that possible? I don’t understand.

  5. Five Daarstens says:

    I think Ray Bradbury (anti-tv), and Christopher Lasch (anti-consumerism) may have been on to something conservatives really missed. This consumer culture we have has been very much against traditional culture. Ferdinand also made a good point recently when he noted how traditional eastern European women are. In my stay in Europe, most of the people I met from eastern Europe were much more traditional than any American I have ever met.

  6. The fourth doorman of the apocalypse says:

    “I live on a black that is all close to 50/50 white-black, whereas the block to my west is apparently all white and the block to my east is apparently all black”

    Hmmm, I guess you believe in the 1 drop rule, but doesn’t he/she find it oppressive?

  7. The fourth doorman of the apocalypse says:

    I am beginning to understand how shows like Law and Order undermine American Culture.

    Of course, there are the episodes that present White American Teenagers as racist, uncaring murderers, when there is ample evidence that other groups are more likely to be such.

    However, there are the more subtle approaches, where the Media are portrayed as being unbending truth seekers even when they are flawed, or things like the anti Affirmative Action lawsuits by whites are brushed aside and such whites are shown as flawed for other reasons.

    So, popular shows are propaganda.

  8. spandrell says:

    Reading OneSTDV is not hard to conclude that he just isn’t very smart. Same with Half sigma. The amount of commentators they have is a good proof of how the bell curve works.

    About my post I wasn’t trying to start a discussion on the word itself, although I might follow up with a post seeing the controversy.

    • Foseti says:

      I like OneSTDV very much – it’s been very interesting to see him turn from HBD-blogger into a reactionary-political blogger.

      Half Sigma is a different story. It’s probably not hard to tell from my posts on him that I’m not a fan of his blogging. He occasionally has some very good HBD posts (in his best ones, he’s actually crunching some numbers), but his other non-HBD posts of late are are pretty half-assed and getting worse.

      • spandrell says:

        Well Half Sigma is your typical chutzpah-filled arrogant jew, and it shows.
        OneSTDV sounds like a nice enough guy, but well, liking sports, wanting your pop culture ‘easy to digest’, proclaiming not to give a crap about anything outside America, etc. I’ve nothing against the guy, but he isn’t going to contribute any new insight.

        Of course its nice to see neurotypicals come to reactionary blogging, but I have a bias against taking them seriously.

      • josh says:

        I read them for a while, but obviously, you are right. They are lesser bloggers. HS is just irritating. He thinks he has discovered the wheel with his “value transference” theory, which as far as I can tell is a confused redefinition of rent-seeking and monetary dilution.

  9. Gabe Ruth says:

    Wow. Your lack of self-awareness is cringe inducing. If your last post is an example of the original thinking you have to contribute, there’s not a lot to say.
    I don’t think too much of either of those guys’ writing, but I don’t think your relative dearth of commenters means what you think it means.

    • spandrell says:

      I guess this is addressed to me? If you wanna trash me you’re free to do it at my place, its bad manners to derail the discussion at Foseti’s.

    • spandrell says:

      Anyway FWIW I wasn’t referring to my own lack of comments, I’ve only just started the blog. But look here, or Jim’s, or Charlton’s. The level of discussion is higher, the people participating fewer.

      • Gabe Ruth says:

        My brotha, that is not trashing, but if I feel inclined to do so I will do it there. Think of it as a polite invitation to practice a little humility before trashing neurotypicals.

  10. j says:

    No, it is easier to provide good governance in Mali than Sweden. The obtuse and stupid colonials of pre-independence Kenya, Uganda, etc. provided excellent governance, with clear laws and fast and incorruptible justice.

Leave a Reply

