Review of “A Game of Thrones” by George R. R. Martin

A while back, I linked to a post (I think from Ulysses) extolling the virtues of boredom. Alas, my attention span is much too short to actually put up with doing nothing for any significant period of time. However, one way I’ve found to slow things down is to listen to books. I spend a couple hours a day commuting, walking the dog, cooking, working around the house, etc. During this time I enjoy listening to a book.

Thanks to the work of volunteers, you can listen to many out of copyright books for free (if you pick the right book, you might even hear my voice). Newer books, you’ll have to pay for, get from the library, or turn to other means which I won’t mention.

I’ve found that it’s best to listen to fiction – there’s little in life that’s more enjoyable than hearing a good story told by a good story teller.

The audiobook version of "A Game of Thrones" that I found is read by Roy Dotrice. Mr Dotrice does a wonderful job. The pace changes to fit the story, characters have distinct voices, and you notice certain parts of the story that you wouldn’t notice if you were reading the book.

So much for the storyteller. The story is also great – I’ll start the next book right away. Surely, by now, you’ve seen the HBO series. If not and you’d like a summary of the book, it’s here.

Anyway, take some time to do something slowly.

4 Responses to Review of “A Game of Thrones” by George R. R. Martin

  1. Having a hard time using the search function. I do not get any results no matter the term or field used.

  2. K(yle) says:

    Roy Dotrice is actually the actor that plays Grandmaester Pycelle on the HBO series.

  3. game of thrones 2. sezon…

    […]Review of “A Game of Thrones” by George R. R. Martin « Foseti[…]…

Leave a Reply

