Randoms

- Most Saturdays, my son and I wake up early and make breakfast while his mom sleeps in a bit. We have always listened to Radio Derb during our Saturday morning breakfast ritual. He drinks milk, I drink coffee, and we slowly make eggs and some sort of breakfast meat. The last few Saturdays have been a bit depressing without our ever-genial host to cheer us up. But no longer, Radio Derb is back.

- As I’ve said before, austerity doesn’t mean having to give up anything. It’s still not clear what it means.

- Roger F. Devlin reviews Jack Donovan’s The Way of Men

- The Slitty Eye on a "free press"

- The ancestors of modern Europeans

- Blacks are most likely to commit hate crimes (this is surprisingly since the authorities seem very reluctant to classify certain crimes as hate crimes). What happens if hate crimes have a disproportionate impact? The mind boggles.

- Candide III (difficult to summarize, read it – it’s short)

- Nywdracu rounds out a series of political endorsements, which includes contributions from Borepatch and Aretae. I, of course, don’t vote. Voting is the height of incivility and it serves no purpose beyond entertaining the portion of the masses that isn’t distracted by football. If pressed, I’d probably be in the Borepatch camp though.

- AnomalyUK on organizations regulating organizations

- As I’ve said before, the education bubble is a bit more complex than most people think. The good schools seem totally justifiable.

- Puritans, Lutheranism and the Nazis

- What should the reactionary make of Scottish independence?

7 Responses to Randoms

  1. anonymous says:

    I tend to agree with Borepatch but I have one concern: what if Obama really does pull the SDS’ final solution on us? Am I just being paranoid?

    http://pjmedia.com/blog/eyewitness-to-the-ayers-revolution/

    “In an interview from the 1982 documentary No Place To Hide that recently surfaced, Grathwohl discussed what the Weathermen intended to do after overthrowing the U.S. government, including what they would do with those Americans who refused to embrace communism.

    I asked, “Well what is going to happen to those people we can’t reeducate, that are diehard capitalists?” And the reply was that they’d have to be eliminated.

    And when I pursued this further, they estimated they would have to eliminate 25 million people in these reeducation centers.

    I want you to imagine sitting in a room with 25 people, most of which have graduate degrees, from Columbia and other well-known educational centers, and hear them figuring out the logistics for the elimination of 25 million people.

    And they were dead serious.”

    • nydwracu says:

      I doubt it. Different pathologies. Most of the revolutionaries I know (and from what I’ve heard of Ayers, he doesn’t strike me as any different) are motivated by either bloodlust or hatred; most either have diagnosable mental problems, no social life, or both, and actually want the mass deaths they’re talking about to happen. If they hated different groups, they’d be cops. Obama, on the other hand, seems like he’ll do whatever brings him the most prestige and power; if that means aping revolutionary talk, he’ll do that, and if it means selling out to the neoliberals, he’ll do that. (Between a power-hungry nut and someone who’s only doing it because his father couldn’t, I know which I’d prefer… but in the end, it’s all Jersey Shore, and if I vote in any elections higher than the local level, it’ll just be to flip them the bird.)

  2. Matt says:

    I don’t get the austerity talk either. When I think of austerity I think of eating pea soup 3 times a day and patching old clothes to not have to buy new ones, but clearly the economistas have a different idea of this. To them it is something like increasing spending by 1000 dollars this year rather than 1100.

  3. josh says:

    Foseti,

    How’s about a pipe smoking update. I was thinking about investing in one. Have you stuck with it?

    • Foseti says:

      It’s going ok. I was doing well for a while, but I slowed down a bit when it got warmer outside – something about smoking in the warm weather just doesn’t quite work for me.

  4. Will S. says:

    Thanks for the linkage.

  5. Candide III says:

    Thanks for the plug!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

