Review of “Wool (1-5)” by Hugh Howey

What can I say about a book that has a five star rating on Amazon with almost 4,000 reviews? Especially since the movie rights have already been sold.

The books are all self-published (spoilers in the wikipedia page). I think this is a hugely important development. Certain art forms – particularly books and plays – have a disproportionate impact on culture. The more self-publishing the better, as far as I’m concerned.

It’s basically impossible to even begin discussing the book without giving away parts of the story. I’ll just say that it’s fun and entertaining sci-fi. I don’t think it’s particularly fascinating, but it’s good stuff. It sets up an interesting question of whether the truth is better than a well-intentioned lie, but it’s too soon to say whether it’ll answer this question in an interesting way.

2 Responses to Review of “Wool (1-5)” by Hugh Howey

  1. Novaseeker says:

    I liked the first one, but wasn’t able to read much past that. I suspect that I eventually will. His prose is lucid. I, however, have that bad habit of reading a few things at once, and some of the other things pulled me away from Wool after I finished the first one, and I haven’t been inspired to go back to it yet.

  2. […] couldn’t resist the sequel, especially since the final book is coming out next […]

Leave a Reply

