Review of “Space Viking” by H. Beam Piper

I have no idea how it was possible that I went so long without reading this book – just look at the title.

I have very little to say about the book – you can find summaries elsewhere.

Suffice it to say that it’s a fun book about raids and pillages from space with some nice commentaries on democracy and mainstream economic theories occasionally mixed in. Good times.

5 Responses to Review of “Space Viking” by H. Beam Piper

  1. Isegoria says:

    I must admit, I found the hokey title quite a turn off — and the first few chapters did seem to suggest a shallow revenge story. After that though, I found it more “oddly compelling” than “fun” and pulpy.

    Piper’s anti-fascist yet not-at-all progressive views won’t confuse anyone here, and they’re why I considered the book rather Moldbuggian.

  2. I also highly recommend the short stories “omnilingual”, “hunter patrol”, “a slave is a slave”, and the full length “the cosmic computer” by the same author, all out of copyright and available as free text and audiobooks from booksshouldbefree.com

  3. I think the hokeyness in the title may come more from cultural agglomerations to the word “Viking” that have occurred since he wrote the book, now that I think of it. I also second spacenookie’s recommendations, especially “A Slave is a Slave.”

  4. wm tanksley says:

    All seconded, and let me add “Little Fuzzy”, which has a title that’s not at all compelling. But go to Project Gutenberg and download it, assuming you’re in one of the jurisdictions in which its copyright is expired.

  5. […] Review of “Space Viking” by H. Beam Piper | Foseti […]

Leave a Reply

